Mel Blanc voice of the looney tunes

Watching the remarkable talent of Mel Blanc made me think about sound in dreams. I already wrote about some good songs inspired by dreams (Angel by Jimy Hendrix, for example and Let it be by the Beatles). Now I wanted to tell you about an inspiring dreamworker I met at the Kerkrade Iasd dream-conference: Sven Dohner.

In his inspiring presentation he changed my way of looking at, and working with dreams. He scans a dream report until he encounters movement. Movement signifies sound. So when working with a dream he asks the dreamer to invent a sound. For example if the movement in a dream is a door being opened, thedreamer should make this noise. Again and again. And notice the change in his body.

Mel Blanc was also very aware of the power of sound. He changed the world a little bit by putting a smile upon your face listening to Looney Tunes.

What do you think? Do your dreams have sound? Music?

About Mindfunda

My name is Susanne van Doorn, I am a Dutch psychologist. I have been working with psychology, dreams and mythology ever since I finished my study of psychology at Tilburg University. I made this site to share insights, and recent scientific articles about the brain, dreams, and mythology for use in your personal life. A Mindfunda a day keeps the doctor away: a healthy mind in a healthy body. If you are a blogger yourself, you’re invited to submit a blog (if you use the contact form I will get back to you asap) on the subjects of science, mythology or psychology.
Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

