Godess energy and dreaming

Unknown

When I was flying to Virginia (or actually the Norfolk airport) I was talking with a nice lady with a lot of experience in dreaming. She had been a Jungian by education. I told her I was preparing a workshop for femininity in dreaming: dreaming of the anima. “A lot of attention has been given to the anima of male dreamers but the anima of woman dreamers is neglected” I stated. She shook her head. “No,” she said, “when a woman dreams about woman she is discovering her shadow self”. Maybe she is right. But I have this feeling. I always follow those strong feelings knowing they will guide me towards new insights in old matters.

There are dreams I have had about woman that where certainly not part of my shadow. I have met goddesses:
“I am in a home, helping my mother to change house. She is talking to an elderly lady with grey/blond long hair. She is negotiating the terms of her rent. While my mother is in the middle of her negotiations she closes the door. This is between her and the older lady”.

When I woke up I knew this older lady was mother earth. My mother, now 84 is accepting the end of her life more and more. I know this dream has got nothing to do with a shadow side of me. I have catched a glimpse of the negatiations of a life-contract. And my mother was right: it was none of my business. It is her life, it are her negotiations with mother earth.

The godess comes in many forms: Mother earth, Venus, Artemis, Hera, Athena. Have you ever had dreams of the godess?

About Mindfunda

My name is Susanne van Doorn, I am a Dutch psychologist. I have been working with psychology, dreams and mythology ever since I finished my study of psychology at Tilburg University. I made this site to share insights, and recent scientific articles about the brain, dreams, and mythology for use in your personal life. A Mindfunda a day keeps the doctor away: a healthy mind in a healthy body. If you are a blogger yourself, you’re invited to submit a blog (if you use the contact form I will get back to you asap) on the subjects of science, mythology or psychology.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

