Alchemy: the spiritual marriage

Image

Sacred marriage
I am guarding a couple that wants to be married. We are on the road, on our bikes, me and some friends. I know L. from highschool, he is my male-companion in making sure the couple can get to their ceremony on time. L. was a man when the rest in high school were boys. I know with him as a guardian-companion we can make this work, we will get the couple to the altar on time. We stop at a crossing and hold up our hands to stop the other traffic to have a save passage.
I am looking at the carriage were the couple is in and the bride, a girl with brown churlish hair is preparing her wedding bouquet. She arranges black and red tulips and is lacing a red band onto the bouquet, carefully lacing it.

I look at her with a feeling of love and guidance in my heart and I wake up knowing we are going to make it happen.

Sacred marriage dreams:
Have been in my dreaming mind for about 2 years, ever since I turned into my midlife (first one at about 45).
In the first one I was the bride myself and I was waiting for my mother to come out of her house. She was not, she was in the car with my husband, driving backwards
towards the street, out from the car port. I felt this dream was precognitive for the death of my mother, 2 years later. Now I see how this dream was an indication to
release the female pattern, the female energy of my mother: being very introvert and insecure; a form of energy
I embraced during many years. Her death was tragic but also a release towards growing more into my original self.
The black tulip is the present I gave Robert Moss when I was organizing a dream workshop for him. I saw these black tulips, very Dutch, and they were called „Queen of the night” I knew this was the perfect gift for him. The combination of black and red is a favorite one of mine. I like to dress in black and red. they are strong colors (though black is not really a color but a combination), Red is passion, spirit, blood, life. One layer of the dream could involve a health issue. Like Jeremy Taylor says: every dream is about health. The red ribbon the bride is handling could resemble the blood vessels. Being a Type 1 diabetic since age 11 I am aware of the vulnerability this disease
causes to my veins. Lucky I do not have severe complications yet. You can find a link here to an interview with Anne Baring, writer of Dream of the Cosmos on the sacred marriage.
My dream is also posted on the Daily dreamer from Carla Young. In this inspiring blog she looks at a dream using a Jungian perspective.
About Mindfunda

My name is Susanne van Doorn, I am a Dutch psychologist. I have been working with psychology, dreams and mythology ever since I finished my study of psychology at Tilburg University. I made this site to share insights, and recent scientific articles about the brain, dreams, and mythology for use in your personal life. A Mindfunda a day keeps the doctor away: a healthy mind in a healthy body. If you are a blogger yourself, you’re invited to submit a blog (if you use the contact form I will get back to you asap) on the subjects of science, mythology or psychology.
This entry was posted in dream interpretation, dreaming, Dreams, Personal Mythology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alchemy: the spiritual marriage

  1. Carla says this about the dream:
    Carla’s thoughts: In my version of Susanne’s dream the couple that wants to marry are previously divergent parts of me that are now ready to unite—this is what Jung would call a conjunctio, often symbolized by a marriage. What might these parts be? L, my companion and helper in the dream, stands for a mature and capable part of me. In the dream I need this part in order to be effective, and that acknowledgment is the first step in our unification. Because his strength gives me a feeling of security I can rely on my Psyche to deal with life’s difficulties.

    Who is the bride? She is described as having “churlish” brown hair. While churlish might be a typo for “curly”, I have to look at the word I wrote down (as the dreamer), not what I might have meant to write. Churlish means “rude in a mean-spirited and surly way.” If hair, because it’s coming out of our heads, symbolizes thought, and brown is slang for anger (I was “browned off”), I might be dealing with some hostile feelings that I don’t want to face. The other colors hint at the topic that has evoked this reaction. I’m lacing together a bouquet of red and black flowers. For me red is life and passion, black is death and nothingness. Flowers are important in both life and death rituals, weddings and funerals. As the bride I lace these two conflicting states of being together—life and death. The red band (life) that I put around my bouquet holds the opposites together and tells me that they are part of the same thing. This is another conjunctio! Seeing this unity in the dream gives me the insight to get past my anger about death, something that I previously responded to with the surly attitude of an adolescent. Once this immature part united with my mature and strong self, represented by L, my reaction to death was no longer churlish. Now I have the understanding of a strong woman, one who can love and guide others as well as help myself along the path; L and I have made it safe for my individuation to continue.

  2. I do think these are very profound insights. In my eyes, the bride is earth-goddess Artemis. Let me explain. She makes her bridal bouquet of the same tulips I gave to Robert Moss.
    Robert Moss his totem animal is the bear. I invited him to give a workshop after having had an Arthur dream: Arthur is the ancient word for bear AND Artemis is the Bear Goddess.
    There is no doubt in my mind she is the bride to be. The big question is who is the groom.
    In my dream he was an “average good looking guy”: wearing a suit and tie, black hair but he did not draw my attention. So he is -in my eyes- a very subconscious part of me.
    Then I read “Branch of the lightning Tree” written by Martin Shaw, just a couple of days after this dream. It made me gasp my breath..:
    “Another important aspect of the (Grail) story is that this isn’t a human king, it is a bear. Human kings in myths are not always so interesting as the intrigues of the court surrounding him. …but his centre the Bear is from the realm of animal powers.” (P99).
    So this dream could raise the question if I am ready to enbrace the animal force, the healing bear power in my life and love it so much that I am willing and able to spent my life with it.

Leave a Reply

